This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Attention, blocking cookies impedes normal functionning of the website.

The dynamic

musee4.jpg

Today, the French capital of luxury footwear, Romans-sur-Isère, is a centre of excellence for the leather and footwear industry.

Drawing on the quality of its industrial expertise, Romans has embarked on a forward-looking approach supported by three factors inherent to its manufacturing industry: expertise, quality and innovation.



New production workshops have started manufacturing creative footwear for the luxury and fashion sectors as well as the middle-of-the-range, sportswear and orthopaedic shoe sectors. Dedicated to developing their own brands and handling the entire production process (design, prototyping, cutting, stitching, assembly and finish), these new workshops cultivate excellence and the SME spirit. Their small size makes them highly reactive and extremely flexible in adapting to changes in the market, given that they work together to develop local cooperative practices.

These new principles break away from the past economic models based on mass production, task specialisation and middleman distribution networks, to create new opportunities not only in terms of markets, but also for employment and training.

Created in 2012 and consisting of about 15 production workshops, the Romans Cuir consortium is a meeting place for entrepreneurs and their partners (local authorities, vocational schools, AFPA (adult vocational training), Musée de la Chaussure, etc.) to share operational objectives with the aim of breathing new life into production methods and endorsing principles of cooperation. Today, this consortium is the principal driving force behind the rebirth of the ‘Made in Romans’ shoe.

Ce site internet utilise des cookies. En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies. Attention, le blocage de certains cookies empêche le fonctionnement correct du site.

La dynamique

musee4.jpg

Romans, capitale de la chaussure de luxe à la française, est aujourd’hui un pôle d’excellence de l’industrie de la chaussure et du cuir.

S’appuyant sur la qualité de son savoir-faire industriel, Romans s’est engagée dans une démarche résolument tournée vers l’avenir en misant sur trois éléments caractéristiques de son industrie manufacturière : le savoir-faire, la qualité et l’innovation.



De nouveaux ateliers de production se lancent dans la fabrication de chaussures créatives, que ce soit dans le domaine du luxe et de la mode mais aussi du « moyenne gamme », du sportswear, de la podo-orthèse… Attachés à développer leurs propres marques et à conserver la maîtrise de tout le processus de production (conception, prototypage, découpe, piquage, montage, finitions), ces nouveaux ateliers cultivent l’excellence et l’esprit PME. Leur petite taille leur permet une hyper réactivité et une formidable capacité à s’adapter à l’évolution des marchés, pour peu qu’ils développent ensemble des pratiques coopératives intra-territoriales.

Ces principes nouveaux, en rupture avec les modèles économiques du passé basés sur la production de masse, la spécialisation des tâches et des circuits de distribution multipliant les intermédiaires, créent de nouvelles opportunités en termes de marchés mais aussi d’emplois et de formation.

L’association Romans Cuir, créée en 2012 et constituée d’une quinzaine d’ateliers de production, permet de rassembler les entrepreneurs ainsi que leurs partenaires (collectivités, lycée technique, AFPA, Musée de la Chaussure…) autour d’objectifs opérationnels visant à renouveler les modes de production et adoptant les principes de la coopération. Elle constitue aujourd’hui le vecteur essentiel du renouveau de la chaussure romanaise.